The THANKS series Edition 2

Four Stories on Coping with Depression

by Pirkko Monds

Select Format


Book Details

Language : English
Publication Date : 27/02/2014

Format : Softcover
Dimensions : 8.5x11
Page Count : 72
ISBN : 9781452592008

About the Book

This is the second edition of the THANKS series—Therapeutic Healing And Nurturing Kid’s Stories. The book consists of four stories all dealing with depression in some way. All the stories are designed to help children deal in a variety of ways with the challenges of depression as it may touch their lives. All the stories are written in poetry and are easy to listen to.

Story 1: “The Little Princess” is about a child coping with depression in a family situation. Many practical solutions are offered throughout the story, and—like all fairy tales— goodness prevails at the end.

Story 2: “A Koala Called Jody” is a story all about helping others and what a good feeling that creates within.

Story 3: “The Magic Fig Tree” is about finding places around us that ‘make our heart sing’ or ‘soothe the soul’ in such a way that we feel good just being present in that particular place.

Story 4: “My Brother Goes To Heaven” deals with suicide. The story is seen through the eyes of a dingo, and even though this is a very sensitive topic, the messages in the story are very gentle, subtle, and clear. If a child has never gone through this adversity, this would just be a very simple story.

About the Author

I am a Finnish-born Australian, and I live on a small acreage near Bathurst, New South Wales, with my husband, Robert, and our dog, Ballie.

I am a retired early childhood and primary school teacher, and I set up my own Rudolf Steiner- inspired child care centre with my close friend, Judith.

I loved writing and telling stories for the children in my care. These were stories children could relate to while finding solutions to the many challenges in their lives.